Hello New Eden!

There, now I’m all grown up as a new capsuleer in Eve. I joined a couple months ago, completed the tutorials and spent a fair bit of time just floating around in high sec space, reading blogs and trying to figure out how to play this wonderfully complex game.

Then, as I was flying about one of the high sec starter systems, I was convo’ed by a recruiter for a small high sec corporation called Operation Wolf Pack. I had been considering joining a corp, and Eve Uni seemed like the logical choice given my complete noob status, but the application process looked a little strict and harsh, so I decided, hey, why not join these guys for a bit?

And so I did. I moved to their home system, bought some more Rifters and started training into the fits they proposed. Set up Teamspeak and learned how things worked in a small corp. All fine and good, the people were fun to talk to and I was learning things as I went along, mostly missioning and ratting in my barebones T1 Rifter. But then the wars came. Marmite first, then other corps joined them. I did not really understand what was going on, why were being “singled out” like that. It made playing almost impossible, though, because people just stopped logging in for fear of being blown up by war targets.

After a few weeks, I was at a junction – quit the game, or join another corp, where things were happening. I decided to apply to Eve Uni, because why not?

And so here I am, a proud member of Eve Uni’s Low Sec Campus. I think I have learned quite a bit by now, about the game and the meta game, about who does what and why, at least as far as high and low sec space goes. Null is another story of course, and some day soon I may wander down to the Uni’s Null Sec Campus to learn a bit more about life in null. But for now, I am content in Low, learning how to be a Pirate – Yarrrr!

So that’s what I will be writing about: my adventures in Eve, trying to become better at Solo PvP and figuring out new ways to enjoy this awesome game.

2 thoughts on “Hello New Eden!”

  1. SOLO PVP you say. Good. There will be fights out there that make your heart beat louder than when your crush talks to you, fights that make your hands shake so hard from the adrenaline rush you can’t even hit F1.

    Find them, and find out why we chose this path.

    We will be waiting.

    (Okay this is a tiny bit more dramatic than it has to be. Good luck out there, space friend.)

    Like

    1. Thanks!

      As I’ve only had a couple of these fights – all of them are like that. In fact, the adrenaline rush comes on so strong that I forget all my carefully laid plans about keeping in the right range, manual piloting tricks, and so on…

      But I will get over it in time, and then the other ships will go boom!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

