Slow Learner

Slow Learner. A phrase that describes me quite well, I think. It’s also the title of a collection of short stories by Thomas Pynchon, but that has little to do with Internet Spaceships, so I shan’t go on about that.

So I am a slow learner. Why? I keep getting blown up in a matter of seconds when I go looking for solo fights. I have lost six or seven ships solo now – not much by more experienced players’ standards, I guess, but for me it feels as though there should perhaps be a bit more progression. Patience, my young padawan, is what my inner mentor whispers in my ear, but the eager noob in me wants to see ships other than his own go boom.

So, I am not the fastest on the uptake when it comes to solo PvP. The same goes, I guess, for my market trading adventures. On the one hand I am very happy with the big milestone that I passed yesterday: I had over one billion in sell orders in the market. That’s the first time I could really see significant progress with my trading adventures. Yay for me.

But on the other hand, it took me about five months to get there, whereas you see lots of testimonies on the net from players who make a billion in less than a month, starting from scratch. For me, it’s been five months of trying out different stations to trade in, different strategies, different market segments, until I finally settled on an approach that suited my gameplay (low on playing time) and resulted in considerable profits.

market

Now, since I found my niche, so to speak, I have almost tripled the amount of money I put into the market. But it took me ages, or so it feels like, and now I will need to find new ways to make it scale, because I have the feeling that with a single trader in a single trader I will have to look at what I am selling quite carefully.

And on a completely different note altogether, I saw a Revenant in space today! Our neighbors CFT dropped ten supers on our three cruisers and one tech one frigate – including a Revenant. Quite pleased that I managed to wait around long enough to see it come out of the cyno, but not long enough to get popped. Although it would have been a cool killmail to be on, of course. Dex, another Unista who was a little slower to warp off, got one to keep in his archives, with all ten supers getting in on his kill…

Leave a Reply

