Popped (Twice)

So I got popped – and podded – on a gate in Placid low sec yesterday night. All part of a regular night out in Eve, you might say, but I have the niggling feeling that I did something wrong. Also, I was really eager to try out Iddo Cohaagen’s scram kiting Rail Incursus fit (excellent video tutorial here), and they popped me before I could get a single fight out of the shiny new Incursus I had fitted out in Stacmon. Finally, the gate campers consisted of just two or three ships – only two cruisers on my killmail, although I seem to recollect a third ship on grid.

In any case, I logged off for the night. Or at least, I wanted to but I could not due to the combat timer. Smart move, that, on the part of CCP – now that I was forced to sit out another 15 minutes, I chatted about my loss with my corpmates, started looking at some more fits, and generally lost most of my bad feelings towards the game and the campers by the time I could log off. There are probably other reasons for that logoff timer, but this was one powerful way in which it worked for me.

Other than that, it’s been a fairly quiet week in Eve for me.

I did not get that much playing time, and the time I had mostly went into one evening in which I got my first non-losing solo PvP fight (a draw – my kiting Tristan could not break the tank of one of the Amarr AFs, but he could not catch me either) and lost my Tristan a bit later while being bait for a small gang fight against the good sports in What Could Go Wrong. I was the only loss so op success, there, and Slate made sure I got the loss back in the form of some loot. A very fun night.

Other than that, my trading operation grew from 1.1 bil to 1.3 bil this week, which is nice, but I am seeing some slowdown in the growth. I seem to be levelling out at about 20 million profit per day, which is not bad given the very small amount of time needed to keep things running, but it is still not enough to reliably plex my account, which is of course the End Goal of this whole trading thing. So that leaves me pondering whether I should branch out into more trade items (rigs? faction cruisers?) or whether I should think about setting up an additional trading post in another station… I will try diversifying into more items first, I think. Less effort!

Leave a Reply

