Miner Mayhem

So. Been a bit quiet on this blog lately, for a variety or reasons. It’s been pretty busy IRL at work, for one, and that has taken up most of my free cpu cycles, and at home with the kids and all that. But I shall try and remedy that in the coming days.

What have I been up to? More trading, mostly, because I find it endlessly fascinating to see what sells and what does not sell, who comes into the market for items that I am working with and how they try to force things one way or another, but step out quite quickly once they notice that the profits won’t be huge or instantaneous, and how my operation just keeps growing day after day.
I don’t actually use spreadsheets. I do have EveMentat that I update every once I while, just to check whether my profit rates are healthy enough, but not on a daily basis. I live by my gut feeling and of course the constant market data streams from eve-marketdata.com and similar sites. Can’t do business without them, really.

Lynx, my main in the Uni, has been out and about looking for solo fights. I find solo roams to be much more exciting than bigger fleets under an FC. There is always quite a bit of waiting on gates involved and in the end you are just pushing buttons, aren’t you?
Also, there are not that many fleets going out in the small timeslot that I have available for playing on most days. I know all it takes is asking whether anyone wants to join in on a small roam, but I don’t think I am really ready for that yet. I still get surprised by the capabilities of many ships, and I constantly have to Get Info to check the specifics of all those myriad ships that fly about in Placid.

So solo it is for me, these days. Still without a kill and that irks me no end. I played some games with a Procurer a couple of days ago, but my Incursus could not really break his tank (a quick Pyfa check showed me he may have had as much as 60K EHP) and I was late in targeting his drones.
Still, we were about the same age, the Procurer pilot and myself, and we had a good laugh in local at our ineptitude – my failure to kill a miner and his failing to get out in time even though he knew I was hunting him.

I shall just continue to roam Placid and Black Rise, looking for those elusive Good Fights(tm). Say hi if you run into me – either before or after my ship goes boom, that’s all the same to me!

Leave a Reply

