Eve Uni On Deployment

So I just went through a first deployment. A real full-scale deployment into a high-sec system full of war targets. But wait, you might say, wasn’t this dude Lynx in Eve Uni?

And you would be right, my friend, but the truth of the matter is that the Uni has gone and set up a deployment in an attempt to end a constant war with a high sec wardec corps. Pretty unusual for the Uni, true… However, The Pursuit of Happiness has had a war dec on the Uni for ages, with the occasional little lull in between, and they cause no end of trouble to new unistas. And given the fact that the Uni is all about the new unistas, there was a growing resentment of the situation.
Basically, there were two camps – those who said, live with it, there’s no way we can end this because PoH does not want to fight, they just run as soon as a decent fight is offered; and there were those who said, come on, with our numbers we should be able to do something, right? The two camps held each other in balance for a looong time, until…

About a week ago, a senior member of the Uni stepped up and called out for volunteers to take action. The reaction was overwhelming – the will to do something was clearly there, and if someone with that kind of pedigree had a plan… we were all for it.

So, plans were drawn up, the propaganda engines fired up, ships moved to the deployment system in Anttiri, and we basically tried to take the fun out of the war deccer’s game. I guess we succeeded, too, because The Pursuit of Happiness dropped the war after just three days. Of course, they might cough up the millions to continue the war next week or the week after, but for now – victory.

My part? Pretty small. I hopped into a Stiletto and a Griffin, joined the crowd sitting on the hostile undock and scouted around for a bit. I really did not have much playtime these past days, so I kind of wish I could have done more (in the EU timezone, we could have done with more unties, I gathered). At least I did get to hear lots of veteran unistas together in comms for the first time. Some of them I had flown with in Low Sec Campus fleets, some were names I only knew from the AARs written by the FCs in the Wormhole and Null Sec Campuses.

Anyway. An interesting if somewhat dull experience. In the meantime, I did take the opportunity to get a jump clone (finally!) and to train Small Energy Weapons to V, so I will be trying out the Coercer pretty soon… Let’s see if I have more luck flying that than the Incursus and the Breacher!

Leave a Reply

