(Not Yet) Mastering the Art of Solo

So. Phoebe is here, and as far as I can tell, the sky has yet to fall down (or up, I guess, as there is no such thing as up or down in space, right?). I will spare you my views on the whole jump changes history, since I don’t really have any worth sharing. I have never used a cyno, jump bridge, or other part of the game that is affected. My trading activities use regular freighters on a high-sec trade route only, so no worries there. All good.

So what do I think about Phoebe? There’s some small but significant quality of life changes that I like a lot.

Bookmarks in space is one. I understand some people have so many bookmarks that they need to set up some filtering, but for me this is a non-issue (although I did learn, from the E-Uni forum debate, that there is a soft limit of about 13,000 personal bookmarks per character – I just love little facts like that).

Another Awesome Thing(tm) is the unlimited skill queue. For someone like me, who has a life outside the game, sometimes has to travel for work with no internet access, or generally has not-so-great control over when they can access the game, this is a biggie. No more lost training time! Yay. My current training queue is only 47 days long, but then I only plugged in some essentials I really want. Gunnery V, Amarr and Minmatar Destroyer 5, that kind of thing.

Enough about the new release. I have been spending most of my game time looking for solo fights. I’ve always felt that this was what I wanted to do in Eve, what I was aiming for in the long run, but now there is an extra incentive: one of the Uni’s in-house solo experts, Kelon Darklight, is hosting a Solo Pvp Competition in November.
Needless to say, I jumped at the opportunity and started looking for solo fights with more audacity that I would normally have applied. Fit a ship, roam Placid and Black Rise and just go for it…

I have only netted a single solo kill so far (but it was my first, so yay!), and a pretty sad one at that. It was an unfitted Atron who was plexing LP (and/or collecting kill rights for resale?). But a kill is a kill, so I was pretty happy. Especially since I won a hundred million ISK as part of the competition. Thanks Kelon!

Now, even though I only have one kill to show for the past four nights or so, I have had a number of additional Gud Fightz!
I lost an old Breacher to a Caracal – kind of silly, that, I consciously YOLO’d into him out of curiosity (how long can I survive against a missile cruiser?).
I also lost a Rail Incursus that I had sitting in station to a blaster Merlin that had an awesome tank – but I probably did not apply my full dps against this one because I forgot to launch my drone and I kept the AB on while orbiting at a quite close range. And last night, I took out a dual web arty Thrasher, and almost blapped a Tristan… but in the end had to bail out because I burned out all of my guns (duh).

So, onwards to the next fight…

Leave a comment