Lessons Learned, And Soon Forgotten

Some days have passed, and I’ve spent most of my time roaming around Black Rise in search of solo action. I have made some progress on my PvP skills, I think, but my billboard does not really show it yet. Not that that actually matters – I feel it every day when I undock, and that’s what is important. It shows in small things. I am much, much quicker to locate ships in space using my trusty directional scanner; I am beginning to know who roams which systems and what types of ships I can expect to find in which plexes. I understand the fits I fly and know how to fly them in combat.

The one skill I have not mastered is patience. With the fits that I fly (and I guess with most fits, except perhaps with some all-purpose fits for “overpowered” ships such as Hookbills or Comets) I have a pretty narrow target selection, and finding a target in a relatively quiet system who a) does not warp away as soon as I go in and b) does not bring in half a dozen friends after 30 seconds, well that’s just plain difficult. As a result, you easily spend an hour, maybe two, just hopping through systems, scanning, checking out plexes and belts, rinse and repeat.
After a while, I get jittery. I want to shoot something. And so I take fights that I know I will lose.

Such as this Tristan fight in a Firetail. If I had focused a hundred percent on the Tristan itself I might even have won it, but I tried to take out some Drones first – and of course my artillery could not track them. So I broke two of my Laws of PvP for this arty fit: Do Not Fight Drone Boats with Artillery and Do Not Try To Shoot Stuff With High Transversal with Artillery. Sigh.

Or this one, once again fighting a Tristan, but now in a Gutsy Incursus. I should have won by all rights, looking back. It was mighty close as it was and a really fun fight to be honest, my opponent had just 20% structure left, and we had a chat afterwards in which we exchanged all our mistakes.
In this fight I violated an entirely different one of my Laws of PvP: Though Shalt Not Engage in Drunken Solo PvP… Because in this fight, the drunkenness led to a first deactivated-by-accident AB, then a burned out AB, a burned out Web while we were at 5K range throughout the fight, and more random silliness.

And last night, my brand new Coercer (just finished training those lasers!) got popped by an instalocking gate camp that even got my pod. Grumble grumble. I know I’m supposed to respect everyone’s playstyle, but these guys… what’s the sense of achievement, I wonder. Oh well.

Better luck tonight, I hope. Get some green on that solo killboard!

Leave a Reply

